Christian Crock: Leaving fake cash tips for waiters…

 

image

From The Freethinker UK

A young waiter in Kansas was delighted when he saw that a customer had left him a tip of $20 – until he discovered that it was a Christian tract exhorting him to seek “faith thru Jesus Christ” and start reading the Bible.

The victim of this despicable act was Garret Wayman, who works as a waiter at a restaurant in a suburb of Wichita. He is reported here as saying: I’m 17-years-old, $7,000 in debt because I had to buy myself a car, juggling full-time school, and working seven days a week.

He said when he first spotted the note tucked under a ketchup bottle he was very excited: Getting a $20 tip at the restaurant I work at is very, very rare.

The intro to the tract read: Don’t be fooled! There is something you can have more valuable than money.

On the back was an eight-paragraph argument for why Wayman should buy a Bible and become a Christian. Wayman said the customer didn’t even leave a real tip to accompany the proselytising pamphlet.

image

He just left that. I wanted to tell him that I only make $3 an hour and bust my ass at my job to make way less than I deserve, but he was gone by the time I had the chance to.

Wayman shared pictures of the fake tip on Twitter, where they have been retweeted over 2,000 times. Many people online have been sympathetic to Wayman’s situation. Wrote one Twitter user: DM me with your info & I’ll send you $20. Seriously. Wayman politely declined the offer.

Tales of waiters receiving fake money aren’t new. Previously, a waiter posted a picture of a fake $10 tip he said he received to Reddit. It had a similar religious message on the back.

The angry waiter who received the fake $10 bill said here: I have never been more of an atheist…

Wayman meanwhile remains understandably frustrated: To get my hopes up like that … is just flat out mean…
~~

One Comment

years ago my aunt and uncle from Colorado would visit me in Oregon. They’d always take me out to lunch because they thought I needed to eat some meat – I was a vegetarian. I noticed that my uncle would leave a Christian tract instead of a tip, so I just started leaving a tip myself. Very nasty, really, that habit.