Ukiah Residents Ride Out Southern California Mud Slides…

 

From Dave Smith
Redwood Valley

You may have seen this harrowing viral video taken near Tehachapi during the recent mud sldes in Southern California. Figuring prominently in the video is a truck and camper that is “about to go over the edge” when last seen as the jumble of vehicles float uncontrollably in the rising mud tide.

In that truck and camper are prominent longtime Ukiahians Greg Foss and wife Becky who endured 40 minutes of a near-death ride from hell.

Thankfully, they did not go over the edge to their doom… the “edge” being the 6 foot high median barrier. Their truck and camper were totaled, but they survived… cold, shivering, but physically unscathed.

Last night at the Ukiah Fairgrounds Valley Fire fundraiser event, the Funky Dozen band, along with hundreds of local area donors and victims, sang, yelled, and danced to the Gloria Gaynor classic “I Will Survive”…

Down on the dance floor, front and center where they usually are at local musical celebrations, dancing and laughing, were Greg and Becky…

Oh no, not I, I will survive
Oh, as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
And I’ve got all my love to give
And I, I, I will survive…
~~

One Comment

Angry earth demon sees its chance to get at the little destructive carbon spewing insects destroying nature’s balance –