The masters of war are the scum of the earth…

 

b

 

2 Comments

All I can say, is BRAVO! A great compendium of references and arguments, that our pusillanimous public schools should be requiring their social studies teachers to teach. Instead, social studies (American history) is dedicated to the usual endless pap I remember from my own American History: glorification of patriotism for various reasons. Land of the free, etc. etc. No critical thinking, no parallel story of events everywhere else in the world.

I agree, I agree, I agree with every word Hedges writes and it makes me sick to my stomach with anger, righteous indignation and absolute frustration–will SOMEBODY now step in with the equally eloquent information needed to implement the changes being asked? If not Bernie, who? I really want to know! I want help with this and I am sure others do too who are overwhelmed with the very real doom and gloom of what is happening; for all of us who look to places like the AVA and UKIAH BLOG for truth but need names and places where the active participation needed to make the changes Hedges and others advocate can be performed. Forgive me if I’ve missed that–I cannot be online all day, to continue searching for these things.
As, is, I’ve found the Local Futures website, downloaded their ECONOMICS OF HAPPINESS video, have discussed and promoted their parallel insights to Hedge’s to every person who takes a momentary breath while talking to me, have stopped traveling an hour+ to the nearest large city to shop and instead now shop the nearest (20min) village (accepting a limited variety with peace-giving grace) and have begun livelihood projects (community garden & woodworking training) in the highly rural village where I live. Where we also founded a Saturday School for local children. Which, for the past 15 years, has been in the Philippines. On a boat my husband and I built so we could leave the United States and live a Simpler Life.
When I asked myself why I don’t return and help my own country, a commencement address to graduating Nurses in Mindanao, a passionate plea for them to stay in their own country and not strive for overseas work in the U.S., provided this insight: our own countries have betrayed us. It is less painful to participate in another culture. It’s like the difference between bone cancer and simply breaking a bone.
The United States has bone cancer. Probably last stages. Philippines also has cancer, but not as advanced. By working with the children here, helping the adults gain greater livelihood skills, a better future may be possible. Maybe.