First they came for the Mormons… and then, we hope, they go after the rest…


m
From Freethought Blogs

A British court is accusing the Mormons of fraud.

A British magistrate has issued an extraordinary summons to the worldwide leader of the Mormon church alleging that its teachings about mankind amount to fraud.

Thomas S. Monson, President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has been ordered to appear at Westminster Magistrates’ Court in London next month to defend the church’s doctrines including beliefs about Adam and Eve and Native Americans.

A formal summons signed by District Judge Elizabeth Roscoe warns Mr Monson, who is recognised by Mormons as God’s prophet on Earth, that a warrant for his arrest could be issued if he fails to make the journey from Salt Lake City, Utah, for a hearing on March 14.

The judge cites the belief that Native Americans are the lost tribe of Israel, that the Book of Mormon was ever written on gold plates, yadda yadda yadda. Sure. I’ll be more impressed when a British court summons the head of the Anglican church to answer for their lies.

The Mormons, by the way, call the totally true allegations “bizarre” and Monson apparently has no plans to travel to London. The court order is kind of a futile gesture, so that seems reasonable — I’m more interested in the fact that “God’s prophet on Earth” has admitted that common Mormon beliefs are bizarre.
~~

2 Comments

Perhaps they should start to tax the Mormon churches in the UK? Most are worth much more than a $1M each. I hope they also arrest Monson when he comes there. The Mormon Church is just another scam cult, out to fleece the members of 10%+ of their incomes and to control their lives down to the last thought. They ruined my family.

Yes, I am an inactive Mormon of 40+ years membership and hold the Melchizedek Priesthood, the same as Monson holds, according to their dogma. I was Executive secretary to 5 Bishops and High Priest Group leader. I am also still ‘married’ to my ex wife in their eyes. lol My Ex and one daughter are all of my family that are still ‘active’. The others were smart enough to leave long ago.

read Martha Beck’s book “Leaving the Saints- How I lost the Mormons and Found my Faith” Great book talking about all of the lies that Mormons continue to tell. I am an “escaped Mormon” and am so happy that my family will not be indoctrinated into this religion, nor will I be “sealed” to anyone for eternity! I prefer my religion outdoors in the clean air and forest!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,535 other followers