Popup book of another kind…



Andreas Johansson, From where the sun now stands, 2011, paper and glue

From ANDREAS JOHANSSON
Voltashow.com

I have in recent years been engaged in making hand-made collages. I take photos of areas in my neighborhood that I cut apart and join together again in new constellations. By doing this, I create imaginary places that are both recognizable and completely alien. These new sites are constructions and have no history, while the places where the photographs once were taken have a very important past. For me, deserted places have a great symbolic value. They represent society’s backside, but also freedom beyond control and regulations. As a child, it was the funniest playground imaginable.

See video display of book here
~~


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,534 other followers