Bruce Patterson: Jesus and the Christian


From BRUCE PATTERSON
4Mules.com
Anderson Valley

Two unemployed bums were sitting on a park bench in the big city. Spring was in the air, and the day was warm and comfortable. Coming out of a long hard winter, the weather was perfect for getting back to work and making some grub money, although neither mentioned it because around the world were millions of unemployed bums sitting on park benches.

“I’ll tell you,” one bum said. “This depression is going to end here pretty quick and, once I’m back on my feet and climbing up the back of the hog, I’ll never forget you, man, not after all you’ve done for me.”

The other bum blushed. All he’d provided was companionship. “That’s mighty generous, brother.”

Sweeping his arm across the soaring landscape of steel, concrete and glass, the first bum said, “Right now fortunes are being made here and I’m going to make mine. Yet, even after I’ve banked my first million, if ever you are in need, you can count on me.”

“What if my car breaks down and you have two cars? Would you lend me one of your cars so I could get to work and back?”

“Hell, I’ll give you a car, brother. How am I supposed to drive two cars at once?”

“What if you get so rich that you have two houses and, for one reason or another, I’m homeless again? Would you let me live in your second house until got back up on my feet?”

“I’d give you the house. Having two house would mean I was only getting half the value of each but, if you were living in one, the value would double. Unless you know what real value is, you can never get ahead of the game. But I know value when I see it, and I see plenty in you.”

“What if I was naked and you had two shirts? Would you give me a shirt?”

After stiffening, the other looked away. “In that case, Jesus, you’re out of luck.”

“How could that be?”

“I’ve only got two shirts.”
~~

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,528 other followers