Twice Baked Irish Potatoes with Stout, Onions, and Kale (Videos)


From COOKING UP A STORY

Cooking Fresh with Ivy Manning — In the Kitchen

First, Ivy Manning visited with Shari Sirkin, of Dancing Roots Farm, and learned more about kale. Now it’s time to take that kale into the kitchen and create something delicious and easy to make, with ingredients that are commonly found in most kitchens!

“What’s your favorite potato story?” Gene Theil, the spunky potato farmer nicknamed “ Gene the Potato Machine,” asked me one crisp November morning as I chose from his table of russets. I drew a blank. “Everyone has a potato story,” he assured me. It finally dawned on me: colcannon. My grandmother used to make the satisfying mash of kale or cabbage and potatoes for me when I was a kid. She said its origins came from necessity when times were tough in Ireland. Women would add kale, cabbage, or even seaweed to their mashed potatoes to stretch the meager harvest;– the greener the colcannon, the tougher the times. Gene was happy to hear that he was right again, we all have a potato story. My love of simple but comforting colcannon inspired this satisfying variation of double- stuffed potatoes; it’s a sort of Irish soul food, if you will.

From the Fields: Kale here

Potato Recipe and Instructions here
~~

One Comment

Hey – My good friends Rebecca and Fred are the masters of this program! Check it out at Cooking up a Story – lots of good information, recipes and footage of farms and food production procedures. Thanks for putting this in the Ukiah blog! How exciting. I tried Colcannon last fall for the first time, and will try this recipe very soon. Yeah! Go CuPS!!!!
Mary Misseldine

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,547 other followers