The passing of Holistic Veterinary Medicine Pioneer — Juliette de Bairacli Levy



From CHARLES MARTIN
Mendocino County Farmer

June 25, 2009 Ukiah, Mendocino County, North California

I want to let you know of the passing of a saint and pioneer in the natural health and healing field, Juliette de Bairacli Levy, the longtime friend of animal lovers, both domestic and organic/biodynamic farmers, and of course animals themselves.

The announcement came to me via Acres USA, a US agricultural publication. Its founder Charlie Walters, also recently passed on to the next world.

Most of my personal dogs, and both my loyal farm dogs, Juliette and Rachel (the latter named in honor of Rachel Carson the pioneer environmentalist) were raised using Juliette’s methods.

Finally, in 2005, after employing her methods of animal care to all of my farm animals, cows, goats, sheep, rabbits, ducks, geese, and chickens, I had the honor of meeting with her at a Laytonville Ecology & Arts Foundation public event. The visit was recorded on film by Cynthia Jeavons, who accompanied me.

A Prayer Request from a Dog

I pray you who own me, let me continue to live close to nature. Know that: I love to run beneath the sun, the moon and the stars. I need to feel the storm winds around me, and the touch of rain, hail, sleet and snow; I need to splash in streams and brooks, and to swim in ponds, lakes, rivers and seas; I need to be allowed to retain my kinship with Nature. ~Juliette de Bairacli Levy

Her website: Juliette de Baircali Levy
~~

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,549 other followers